Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If I only have a binary switch in my GTV6, is it safe to splice a secondary relay into the circuit from the binary switch to the compressor to trigger the condenser fan I installed?

I also think the passenger side radiator fan is designed to switch on with the compressor, so maybe I should use that existing circuit for the condenser fan and just wire the second rad fan in series with the primary rad fan?

Hmmm...

·
Premium Member
13,160 Posts
I'm no AC expert but I think that you need to have pressure switches in the compressor circuit.

·
Registered
2,131 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well, I do have the standard-issue binary pressure switch, which passes power to the compressor. My thinking was to install a second output wire to the switch that would trigger a relay to power the condenser fan. I suppose I could install a trinary switch, but I have NO idea how to install it with the existing wiring, or even what size relative to my receiver/dryer. I just figured the binary switch could do the job?

·
Registered
438 Posts
You can just have the OE relay (Q16 on my Alfa schematics) that turns on the first OE rad fan turn on the condenser fan also. The Q14 relay turns on the compressor clutch. The I1 relay turns on both OE fans when triggered by the radiator thermal switch. Since the I1 relay can turn on both radiator fans simultaneously, the Q16 relay ought to be able to turn on one OE fan and the condenser fan simultaneously.

·
Registered
2,131 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)