Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new with Alfa's. but been "playing" with car for 25 years and have never had this happen. Got my car to run after adding a new fuel pump and fuel relay. The Alternator light was on after it started so I installed a new alternator and battery. Just when I thought I was good to go ,I rev'ed the engine a little ( maybe to 2000 rmps My tach doesn't work) and the red light came on! If:confused::confused: I shut the car done and restart it the light is off. Then as soon as I rev the motor the light comes back? What could cause this?

Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My car is a 1986, Is the reg part of the alternator?

The car at the auto parts place told me the reg is built into the Alternator. All connections seem tight

·
Registered
4,450 Posts
Need more info for sure on this. Also year of your car.

If yours has an internal voltage regulator...it is super common to see the red light on after start up or at least remain on until after the first revving. This is the VR kicking in and should shut the light off.

Now with yours kicking in after revving....and a new alternator already installed....makes me wonder if you have the right VR in the alternator you purchased. Also make sure the single green wire is connected and not corroded at the terminals.

Also check your fuses....

Best Regards,
John M

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I was able to confirm 14.4 volts But the light still comes

I just started my car after I hooked up a voltage gauge. I get 14.4 volts after I rev the motor and the Alt light still comes on?

·
1966-2013
13,741 Posts
Could still be the brushes or regulator.

Does the voltage stay the same when you rev it and get the light to come on?

If it drops, then you're still prolly looking at brushes, connection, or possibly a loose belt.