Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I say radweld I refer to all "leakfix" coolant additives.

I have been recommissioning a car that has not run for about 5 years.

I quickly found that the radiator was damaged, when I got it out I found it was full of dust...

Once a new rad and pipework was installed I got the engine running for the first time to discover that the pump was leaking...got it off and it had red lumps caked everywhere, it was like someone had emptied an orbital sander bag into the pump... destroying the bearing.

Then found that the thermostat was jammed open.. again due to this odd sludge everywhere..it had stuck the thermostat open.

I then found out that the PO had been trying to fix coolant seepage using radweld...

I also developed an annoying oil leak from the head gasket, so I took the head off today to find the water chamber is filled to the top with radweld gloop ! So now it all needs to come out and be properly cleaned.

Also found root of oil leak... No rubber rings, just some red sealant... and the remains of one ring that looks like it has been chewed by a squirrel.

Lesson learnt... No radweld, fix it properly.

Attachments

·
Registered
951 Posts
Lock down those cylinders before you do any work on the clean up.

·
Registered
951 Posts
This sounds like a case where someone thought if one can is good, 8 cans would be a lot better better.

There was a story in the news a few years ago when someone wanting to kill the bugs in his house. He bought a bunch of those aerosol cans, the kind that you "set it and forget it". The fire depart said there might have been 12 cans in the house. The gas reached the gas water heater and the windows were blown out plus some fire damage.....:oops:.

·
Super Moderator
11,691 Posts
All I can say is wow and you might want to get a different block.