Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 68 GTA 1300 Stradale that is blowing white smoke from the exhaust. Compression and leakdown test results are normal. Inspection of the valve stem seals reveals... no valve stem seals on intake valves. Is this normal?

The parts manual I have does not list a different (from the GT) valve seal for the GTA, but I didn't read that to mean there were no valve seals.

So, I am hoping someone who knows these cars can shed some light on the situation.

Thanks in advance.
Tony

·
Registered
870 Posts
Are you sure it's white smoke ?
White usually indicates steam, (more often than not head gasket),
blue smoke indicates oil, black smoke fuel from over rich mixture.

Steve

·
Registered
870 Posts
Then as you first hinted, valve stem oil seals. I'm not an expert on GTA engines, but I would have thought that they should have them on both, particularly the inlets.

Steve

·
Registered
5,977 Posts
Are you losing brake fluid? If your car uses a servo, the inner seal has been known to fail and allows fluid to be drawn into the engine through the vacuum line. Disconnecting this line temporarily will be a simple way to see if this is your problem.

·
Super Moderator
11,559 Posts
As built in '65, the 1600 GTA's had no seals and we didn't add them for racing. The engines were apart often enough to replace worn guides, and the intakes, shortened guides, with the big intake valves, wore leaky pretty fast. My GTA engine on the street last year used oil, but I saw no cloud of smoke. The engine is out of the car for a rebuild currently, and will get modern seals on both sides on reassembly.

·
Registered
2,212 Posts
GTA did not have valve stem seals originally. Not likely the cause of your issues.

Servo failure and brake fluid leakage, as noted above, will cause that. It also drains your brake fluid to the point of there being none left ... been there done that :cursing: