Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in Sol. Ca. and looking for a project Spider... What year Spiders have Carbs instead of FI?

Is there any advantage or disadvantage in terms of reliability or performance between FI and a Carb set up?

Thanks... I am new to Alfas... looking forward to building something cool.

Best

Michael
North SD County
[email protected]
760-728-7079

·
Registered
811 Posts
I think you would have to go pre 69 for a US car . Carbs were still around in 69 for other parts of the world like here in Canada .

The Spica injected cars range from 69 to 81 when Bosch Injection started.

The Spica system is an improvement over the Weber carb setup but can be hard to work on.

The power output of Alfa motors dropped a fair bit from the early 70's to the mid? 80's due to pollution
restrictions . More to do with the cams that the injection .

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
David:

Thanks... that was a big help... Are there a lot of aftermarket engine modifications that like different cams that I can have done during an engine re-build to make up for performance loss? I ask as the cheapest options so far are 1970 to 1974 Spiders?

I will not be doing the engine work so I just need to know options available from guys like you who have the experience.

Best

Michael

·
Registered
811 Posts

·
Registered
6,892 Posts
Both carbs and injection work well when they are in good shape......
Both will give you fits if not.
The biggest difference in the later spiders is emmision controls and weight. Less power and more weight = slower car.

·
Registered
4,319 Posts