Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to dual carburettor synchronizing.
Following many instructions on the forums, the web, and in weber carb books, I'm a little confused.
The reason for the confusion, is that I have 2 sets of carbs(4 total), on 2 different cars, and all of my carbs do not have the 'Air Bleed adjustment and lock nut'.

To tune 'my carbs', to me, the only external adjustment are mechanical linkages, and the 'Idle Air Mixture' screw. No 'Air Bleed adjustment'.

So, is this the way the came from factory, without the lock nut, and just a cap screw on the air bleeds?
Or have then been rebuilt, and wrong parts put in?

Or do I just tune them, only adjusting the idle air screw?

·
Registered
160 Posts
Which version of Weber carbs do you have? There will be numbers stamped on the top cover of the carbs e.g. 40 DCOE 32. The earlier carbs do not have the air bypass screws. I believe the air bypass screws were introduced on later versions to help with CO emissions at idle.

·
Premium Member
13,334 Posts
I think that most 40DCOE's from 40DCOE72 on and maybe some earlier had the idle air bypass screws. They were intended to fine tune the carbs for emissions compliance. I suggest that you set them fully closed.

·
Registered
160 Posts
I think that most 40DCOE's from 40DCOE72 on and maybe some earlier had the idle air bypass screws. They were intended to fine tune the carbs for emissions compliance. I suggest that you set them fully closed.
My 44 / 45 have them. Possibly the lowest number car to have them?

I'm struggling with the generally accepted logic of closing them, rather than opening them (less as possible having sync'd the 2 carbs against each other and set the idle speed) to obtain the best even vacuum across all 4 barrels.

Clearly closing them means that the carbs work like a classic Weber.

·
But Mad North-Northwest
9,970 Posts