Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,964 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I just met with a very helpful local member to review some minor issues with an 87 Quad I just bought. He went over a few things with me and in the process found the vvt not working. It was verified as not working using the methods of engine on and engine off. I checked out some of the info on vvt, and started following some of the instructions. So far, I confirmed its not working, sprayed/cleaned the needle, checked and cleaned the 3 wire connector, and checked cleaned the connector on the vvt. But I cannot find the fuse. Attached is a picture of where I suppose the fuse might be installed but isn't. Two dead ended connectors??. If this is the correct place, not sure why it would be installed this way (but I'm new to this type of car). Actually not sure why disconnected (on purpose or accident) Am I right? If not, were is the fuse, and what is this. Can somebody maybe send a pic of what I should be looking for, or if this is the right place, what a correct assembly (bullet fuse) would look like here. Thanks.

Attachments

·
1966-2013
13,741 Posts
Yes, that is where the fuse would be.

In stock configuration its identical to the fuse holder under the cargo shelf by the ECU that services the fuel pumps.
In~line, red, bullet fuse inside it.

You can get a standard blade fuse holder and put it in that location with no ill effect.
8 amp fuse IIRC.

In this pic you can see it hiding behind the radiator resevior fill cap.

This is a pic showing the same type fuse holder back by the ECU:

·
Premium Member
1,964 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info, I will try putting a fuse in tomorrow and see what happens. I fear this is only the beginning for me. I say this because in the second pic where you show the ECU, there is the the drive relay... well from what I recall, my car has the drive relay but nothing is plugged into it. What do you make of that? Thanks.

·