Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi again all. I know this should have been a simple process, but I have got an unfamiliar situation. I removed the valve cover to find that the pieces that were falling apart were actually 2, YES TWO, gaskets. one sealed to the cover, and the other sealed (sort of) to the other. I can think of no reason for this other than to make sure the car leaks oil out of the valve cover...obviously they separated, they were very brittle and they were not the rubber gasket that I thought was there. It was flexed like rubber strangely. Further, ALL of the washers are fiber washers...It's a miracle the car even ran! So, should I be able to find aluminum washers at a hardware store, or do I need to make yet another order from IAP?

So, couple of questions...as I have never done this before. Exhaust cam has a full resevoir of oil, the intake does not. Is this normal, and how do I remove the oil? Is this the appropriate time to drain the oil out of the car?? Seems to me that it will be a lot easier to clean my surfaces with the oil at least out of the cam reservoires.