Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4,090 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I have purchased a private party vehicle in Oregon. I'm a resident of California and am considering flying up and driving the car down. The previous owner will keep his personalized plates. Do I need a temporary registration from Oregon DMV to drive it down to CA, or do I just keep the previous owner's registration card and drive without plates? My CA insurance automatically covers. Any Oregon residents with Oregon DMV experience who can clarify?

Alternatively, I will tow it down on a trailer, but I'd rather drive it :)

Thanks,
Jes

·
Registered
9,977 Posts
The owner should let you use the plates to get it down to Calif. You can mail the plates back to him. They're of no use to you, after that.

·
Registered
1,206 Posts
Show up to any DMV with your registration and proof of insurance plus $25. They will issue a 15 day trip permit.

That is the legal way to do it.
Robert
Oregon

BTW, what did you get??

·
Registered
4,090 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Thanks for the suggestions.

The issue is that I would hate to be at the mercy of a DMV visit to drive it home... could they have an issue with my CA insurance which automatically covers any vehicle for 30 days after puchase...? do they want to see the VIN on the proof of insurance card (it won't be)? Don't want to be stuck at DMV in Oregon and left unable to drive the car...

BTW, non-Alfa, shhh...

Jes

·
Registered
805 Posts
Thanks for the suggestions.

The issue is that I would hate to be at the mercy of a DMV visit to drive it home... could they have an issue with my CA insurance which automatically covers any vehicle for 30 days after puchase...? do they want to see the VIN on the proof of insurance card (it won't be)? Don't want to be stuck at DMV in Oregon and left unable to drive the car...

BTW, non-Alfa, shhh...

Jes