Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Administrator
16,996 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Iv'e been searching threads like this one: No Spark in my 84 Veloce (and all the threads linked within that one) for info about a no-spark (thus no start) condition in our '84 Spider.

I did find one bad flywheel sensor - replaced it. They now both re-test good. Cranking speed sounds good, I get good voltage at the ignition computer's large connector (IIRC, terminals 4&5) when cranking.

But no spark.

Should I see 12V at the + terminal on the coil (green/black wire) with ignition on or when cranking? Because I don't. Does this indicate a dead ignition computer? Any advice appreciated. Well, within reason, of course...

P.S. I've been searching for information about an inertia sensor. I don't find one in this car. The FI harness has a white wire with red tracer that I did not know where to connect. I studied a guy's '86 Spider and found the same wire connected to a pink/white wire that goes into the harness along the rear of the engine bay (it'd be near/under the washer reservoir). And no inertia switch on the firewall of his car either.

·
1966-2013
13,741 Posts
Do you by happenstance have a large white wire on the negative side of your coil?

If it's not there, the ICU won't work as that's it's power feed.

To check coil itself get yourt multimeter and check for the following: (key off)

terminal #1 (-) to terminal #15 (top of coil tower) .6 - 1.0 ohms
terminal #1 (-) to terminal #4 (+ (** NOTE: may be labelled as '2' on the coil proper)) 3 - 5k ohms

Make sure the little mastic fill plug is present and not leaking.

My 85 doesn't have an interia switch either, btw. (I think it has to do with the L-jet AFM. If it slams shut, ie: engine stalls or gets killed during a wreck, the fuel pumps shut off anyway as the flap has to deflects a certain amount for them to activate)

·
Administrator
16,996 Posts
Discussion Starter #3