Alfa Romeo Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I am new to carb and could use some expert advice.

Got a AFR500v2 AFR unit from Ballenger installed it with its supplied wideband sensor last night and took the car for a ride.
This is a US 2L 1976 Alftetta with newly installed a pair of Weber DCOE32.
The car is equipped with 123 Bluetooth ignition, euro intake manifold and euro exhaust manifold.

I validated the Weber to be per original spec:

Main Venturi: 32
Emulsion tube: F9
Main Jet: 130
Main Air: Corrector: 200

Now for the AFR results:

After full warm up idle AFR is 14~15.
When accelerating numbers move toward 12~13 until the main circuit kicks in at around 3000 RPM where the number changes to around 11 and stays this way up to max RPM.
Car ideal nice and I don鈥檛 feel any week spots upon acceleration.

Logic says I need to increase the air corrector size a bit, say from 200 to 210 in order to get to the optimal power ratio of 12.5, am I correct?

According to all the Weber DCOE Jet guides the Air corrector needs to bigger from the main fuel jet by 50, so why are Alfa Engine don鈥檛 follow these rules?

For fuel delivery I use a low-pressure electric pump with a measured stable output pressure of 4PSI, I know that this is a little bit over the ideal which is 3.5PSI, can that somehow affect the AFR? Is a 4PSI really too much for Webers?

Thanks for your help 馃檹

Automotive tail & brake light Light Automotive lighting Hood Automotive tire

Richard Jemison
Are your readings at full throttle acceleration, in which case going to a 210 air corrector should help resolve the high RPM readings. But higher fuel levels could be the issue.
But what are the readings at normal street driving, and no load cruising?
If you are measuring fuel pressure at the carbs the high fuel pressure is probably effecting the fuel level. which does cause a richer mixture if too high.
Commonly the range below works well.
Idle: 14-16