Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 89 Posts

·
Registered
1981 Alfa Spider Veloce
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up a 1981 Spider Veloce a few days ago for really, really cheap, and this will be my thread of going through it with a fine toothed comb until I figure out why it was so cheap, or declare it good. We will see what happens.

I made an intro thread over here

I am new to Alfas, but have been wrenching on cars almost my whole life, so not shy around tools. Going to start taking as little apart as possible and work my way inwards.

The good and the working:
It runs and drives! Drove the mile from the sellers house to mine (Did I meantion it just popped up at the end of a driveway down the road on saturday?)
Trans seems to shift fine, clutch is good.
Power windows work
brake lights work
blinkers and hazards work
blower fan works
the red rocker switch next to the window switches lights up (Don't know what it does, but it lights up).
Shocks seem good
it's all one color
newish roof
decent tires
nice interior with only minimal cracking of the dash.
It's all one color
The wipers try really, really hard. They are doing their best.

Now to start the bad....
zero dash/interior lights.
I think the only "working" gauge is the OPG, and that seems to just do what it wants.
??? miles, 6 digit odo says 83k, title from when the PO bought it 12 years ago says 98k. I am betting 120-140k
wireing is a mess (not a surprise for an old alfa)
Needs fuel lines....
The worst repaint I have ever seen. There is overspray everywhere.
rust? (question mark because I expect rust. I am fairly sure the rockers are gone and covered over).
Really shoddy body work and bondo (again, not unexpected)
The fuel in the tank smells like it is only a few months from being varnish. Going to need to get that out....
lots of oil on the bottom (again, not a surprise at all).