Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there , Im new to the forum , Ive just purchased a 66 giulia sprint gt veloce
,I plan on driving it, not racing it, what would be the best tire spec for this car. This alfa still had the 1984 licence plate sticker on the car, car literally has been stored for 30 yrs , 3 dime size rust holes on drivers door and all original matching numbers. Any expertise out there would be
much appreciated, Thanks Kempton

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
1966 giulia sprint gt veloce

Hi there , Im new to the alfa forum, and have just purchased a very nice all original 66 gt. Can anyone give me their take on the best tires to buy for this model. It will be driven mainly on hwys , summer only , and wont be raced.
It still had the licence plates on it with a 1984 sticker. The car has had 2 owners since 1966 and approx. 58,000 kms. I know these cars can be really bad on rust, so far the only rust is on the drivers door , 3 dimes size spots. Panels and chrome are essentially perfect . It will need some work for , but looks like a nice one. Lastly can anyone suggest how to check out the carbs,Thanks Kempton

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Andrew , yes it has original 15s, the 165s might look better and probably will handle as well

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
So how good are the Avon CR6ZZ series in a 155 R15 size for daily use (wet, dry driving) ? Anyone running them? I'm seriously considering them for my SGT.

Either that size or another in the same series? There's not a lot of info on early 105 owners out there running these tyres.

·
Registered
5,977 Posts