Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1991 Alfa Romeo 164L 5 speed 3.0 12v
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to get the best of the best parts for the timing belt repair , I know parts for these cars are hard to come by, and I’m sure a complete engine is almost impossible, so I want to care for this car meticulously
I guess my question is what timing belt kit and water pump and thermostat should I go with? I am a master tech and do timing chains on chevy 2.4’s and timing belts on toyota 3.3’s often, so I know I’m capable of doing the job, I plan to print the template out and get it laminated , and I’ve read Steve’s write up on the job and I will follow it step by step

·
Premium Member
1,633 Posts
Get a cardisc, sometimes it’s nice just to have the manuals.

As for bits, I don’t know that there is lots of choice, one manufacturer of water pump, one for belt tensioner, a couple for the actual belt. There are a couple options for the serpentine belt idler/tension pulley. Have a couple of the thin orings on hand for under the cam hub plate in case you have some leakage there. Might also want six spark plug well seals if you are thinking of taking the valve covers off. If you do take the valve covers off, make sure you retorque the head nuts.

Used parts, like a whole engine are out there, Alfa parts exchange in California has a wide selection.
Generally it’s more about the planning ahead, can’t go to Napa and get bits. So, for me anyway, it’s have it on hand or wait two weeks mid job.
The job itself is pretty straight forward, it’s getting to the job that’s a bit time consuming.

·
Premium Member
9,870 Posts
I would like to get the best of the best parts for the timing belt repair , I know parts for these cars are hard to come by, and I’m sure a complete engine is almost impossible, so I want to care for this car meticulously