Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie to this site but have owned my 74 GTV for 30 years. I know this is a well discussed topic but most of the treads are a few years old and the recommendations are unfortunately obsolete.

When I first bought my car I used 195-60-14 tires (mounted on aftermarket Momo 14x6 wheels). Always thought those tires were too small for the wheel well. When I did a more extensive restoration in mid '90's I went to 205-60-14 (Pirelli P6s, same wheels). I liked the look but felt the 205s were a bit "heavy" and the car lost some nimbleness. This seems to be a common statement based on earlier posts.

So, I need to put some new tires on and I am tempted to go to a 185-70-14 size but also see a lot of support for the 195-65-14. Regardless, the choices for quality performance tires in these sizes are pretty poor. I only use the car for summer fair weather driving. So I'm hoping there are some good recomendations from the Alfisti on this site facing similar dillemma.

Thanks in advance and sorry to bring up a rehash thread once again.
Ted

·
Registered
1,632 Posts
One of the best things I did to my GTV was "downsize" the tires from 195s to 185-70-14s. I'm very happy with the fit, appearance and "handling" of the narrower tire as it returned the proper feel and character for the car's vintage. No more heavy steering, concerns about broken steering boxes or big arms required for parking. The steering is light and nimble. The car is for weekend/street use only and has Pirelli P4s; it's lowered a bit but not slammed to the ground; stock shocks, bushings and bars; the tires squeel a bit at the limit but I find the grip more than enough for weekend fun and my driving skill level.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #3