Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys! I haven't had a spider since 2 years ago when I sold my 1984, I have a 164L but I want to get a spare car for those days when the 164 gives me lip. The spider is a great car with zero rust and well kept. Everyone I know thinks I'm crazy for buying another Alfa since my 164 has been a bit of trouble, but the 3.0 is intoxicating. My 164 is my primary car, I just need a second car. Please tell me I'm not crazy.

·
Registered
284 Posts
I don't think you're crazy, but, if you MUST be some place at a definite time, you might consider a third car...perhaps a Honda or Toyota!

·
Premium Member
22,383 Posts
I've been using a 105/115 Alfa as a daily car since 1977. I do have backups, but I don't need them. Once dialed in, I think these are very reliable cars.
Andrew

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks fellas! I do believe in my 164L. She has been a headache, but I've pulled though the toughest moments. I want to do some work on it, but that will require some down time. So I do need a second car. Do 1990 graduates have rust protection or is it prone to rust like early cars? I ask since I plan on driving it up to Seattle over the weekend if I decide to buy it.

·
Registered
304 Posts
No you're not crazy. In fact you need 2.

That's part of the charm of driving a 30-40 yr old car. Will it start? Is this the day the hood release cable breaks?, New oil leaks?

All good stuff, you should be fine with 2.

·
Registered
585 Posts
An Alfa is like a good sexy Italian woman (especially a red one). Keep her treated well, and she will love you and tend to all your whims. Mis-treat her, and you will have a myriad of problems. ENJOY HER!!!

·
Premium Member
93 Posts
Do 1990 graduates have rust protection or is it prone to rust like early cars?