Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just purchased a 1994 164 ls, as if i was asking for trouble i have a different94 ls but it is an automatic, i wanted to try a 5 speed this time. This one only has 73,000 miles on the clock. Ok, here is the problems. 1) car runs like a bag of poop. 2) dashboard intermittently goes out and all guages and lights in dash cluster are dead, h/vac is dead also. only things that work are headlights, wipers, left blinker, and not sure if brake lights work, even the check engine light is out. I need to fix number 2 before i can start number 1(insert joke here). I can't do the motronix self diagnosis because I cant catch the check engine light. I'm going to try to keep searching the archives for someone with simular problems. Im a pretty good mechanic, but i really dont like electrical, and this car scares me with its 20 miles of wiring and 200 different relays:001_unsure: I have the set of factory manuals including all tsb's, but I'm just looking for a starting point. possible ignition switch ?

·
Premium Member
26,998 Posts
Ignition switch a good place to start. Check red wire for 12v with key off or on. Then if you have 12v jumper to pink and see if dash lights up. Jump to brown and see if engine starts when you turn key to start.

Report your findings/progress.

·
Registered
5,485 Posts
let me give a suggestion. First, check your battery voltage and connections, charge the battery if needed. Start the car and measure the battery voltage at the battery connections themselves.

Second, put a fuel pressure gauge on the fuel rail, start the car and record the pressure. Then turn car off and wait 5 minutes and report pressure again.

I know you have something electrical going on, but this car can run (and should run) with a strong 12V ; fuel; and air. Probably easiest to get the car running before you tackle electrical problems (at least it would be for me)