Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post and your forum seems like a perfect place to get some answers.

I found this 1967 GTV and am absolutely in love with the car but not really sure I can afford it. The guy says it was a California car, 51k on the odometer, virtually rust free. He has owned it for 3 years, he never drove it and kept it in a garage. He said he paid $8600 for it and it had some damage to the rear taillight panel which he had fixed. The seller said that it runs and drives, of course he didn't have the keys when I met him. I did find the missing veloce emblem in the glovebox. The panel gaps on the trunk seem off as well as the passenger side door doesn't fit right. Are these panels adjustable and are they easy to do? Im no mechanic by any means so most of this will be a hobby for me and my kids.

The seller said he had listed it before and had an offer of $15k that he turned down hoping for more. He said he will not take a penny less than $15k for it, he has terminal cancer and is looking to sell it. The seller knows its worth something, but Im almost positive he doesn't have a clue what he has.

I will attach more picture of the engine but I did notice what may be the power steering pump leaking.

I live in midwestern United States and you just don't see these beautiful cars anywhere around here and that is whats drawing me to the car.

I have zero maintenance history on the vehicle or knowledge of where to look if its a #'s matching vehicle besides the pictures you see. Where is the engine stamped at?