Alfa Romeo Forums banner

Stradale-inspired build

12K views 55 replies 15 participants last post by  KREBS Pierre 
#1 ·
I am an experienced builder of one-off racecars and kitcars. My latest project is a Stradale lookalike. After much research I found that there are 2 distinctly different sets of plans/blueprints circulating on the internet.One set is from Style-Auto magazine, and all the other plans you see seem to be derived from a second set of blueprints. What can be seen as a glaring difference between the 2 sets of plans is that the StyleAuto set have the 4 headlights and a MUCH more rounded or eliptical cross-section to the cabin and windscreen. I take the StyleAuto plans(drawn on 100mm squares ) to be the original Franco Scaglione design. I have read that Franco was bitterly dissapointed with the way the Stradale build proceeded, and I have deduced(wheher rightly or wrongly) that the eliptical-windshield drawings were Francos original design , and that he was forced by Chiti into modifying his design to suit the available T33 Daytona windscreens.So what I have decided is that I am building the body shape as Franco would have intended.I may be romanticising this story, but as a car designer myself I have experienced the unwanted input of financial and administrative restrictions and interference so I can imagine the frustration Franco must surely have felt as his design was diluted.Anyway, whether my story has merit or not, the car I am making is taken from the design in the StyleAuto foldout,and if my story is correct, I will be producing the Stradale shape as Franco intended it to be

Attachments

See less See more
#8 ·
Fabulous great skills ,wondering what sort of underpinnings you have in mind (ladder frame tube or based on an already available chassis \ sub frame?) engine choice etc .etc. Regards John

#10 ·
I like the cut of your jib, sir!...as well as the lines of your car. I completely understand your reasoning in the original post.