Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all - I'm a newbie here and just acquired 2 Spiders recently (1980 and 1973). The 1980 has been sitting for about 20 years and needs full replacement of the cooling system (waterpump, radiator, thermostat, hoses, etc...). It looks like waterpumps are out of stock from most of the online vendors. Is there a shortage of these or am I just not looking hard enough? Are there alternative waterpumps that will work on my 1980?

Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
865 Posts
Have you tried Classic Alfa UK, Centerline, Alfaholics, Alfa Parts Exchange (APE), Autoricambi, Vicks Auto Parts, Highwood Alfa, and so on,, Google 7 you might find a few to choose from.
Are you in need of a complete water pump, or do you have one that can be rebuilt? Maybe checking your area for machinist that will rebuild your pump,, could be an option?
besides, you say you have 2 Spiders.
These are old and classic vehicles and most of us have to do some scrounging at times but occasionally we find a replacement ready to go. Cost, of course then becomes an issue ^. It's all in the pocketbook as to which route to take.

And, Welcome to the BB

·
Premium Member
3,936 Posts
Hi all - I'm a newbie here and just acquired 2 Spiders recently (1980 and 1973). The 1980 has been sitting for about 20 years and needs full replacement of the cooling system (waterpump, radiator, thermostat, hoses, etc...). It looks like waterpumps are out of stock from most of the online vendors. Is there a shortage of these or am I just not looking hard enough? Are there alternative waterpumps that will work on my 1980?

Thanks in advance!
Only the U.S. cars use this type from 1969 to 1990. Supplies are running out at vendors. I've heard another run is being made. But who knows when the date will be on that. If you find some. I would get 2.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #7