Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I am brand new to AlfaBB and the reason for me joining is my mother’s Alfa. The first new car my grandmother ever bought was her Alfa 2000 Spider Veloce in 1976. That Alfa was also my mother’s first car, however since about the early 90's when both my parents bought new cars the Alfa was pushed into the garage and sadly forgotten about. It wasn't until last year that my brother and I along with a family friend have started fixing my mother's car. We are at a crossroads though, the tires are completely shot from being stuck in place for over 20 years not counting what the harsh freezing and heat that come from Midwest weather did to them. Over the past year we managed to get the engine running and get the car to move inches. One of many problems that we are having are the breaks. If anyone can give any advice as to where to find breaks that would fit a 1976 spider Veloce would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
5,538 Posts
Welcome to your best tool for getting your car back on the road. Brakes are pretty straight forward with these cars. Pads are readily available at Autozone, etc. Chances are you'll need more than pads though. Alfas are not Hondas and do not do well with neglect. How is the body in general and rust in particular?

I would make a list of everything that needs attention and then start searching the forum and asking questions.

Good start by posting pictures!

·
Registered
1,704 Posts