Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,
Does anyone know where the two wires that come out from the bottom of the pump goes?? I have converted from carbs back to Spica and I don't have a clue on where these wires plugs into. Any help would great appreciate it. Also, I am new in the Alfa world, so please be gentle.

Thank you in advance.

Q-man
78' Alfa Romeo Spider

·
Registered
9,977 Posts
One wire goes to the top of the fuel cutoff solenoid and the other to a wire that comes from the right front of the engine compartment.

·
Registered
9,977 Posts
It really doesn't matter. I'm out-of-town right now so I don't know exactly, but the wire that goes to the car's electrical system has a straight spade connector, while the fuel cutoff solenoid spade connector has the wire attached to the side of it.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
John, I bought this car a year ago, the previous owner had converted over to carbs, which he had cut all the wires and the ends. Now, when I gone back and converted it back to the Spica fuel injection pump, I have nothing to go by. I have looked at a lot of manuals and nothing cover a picture of a wiring. I can follow instructions really good, if I have something to go by.

Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
4,307 Posts
If you can't find the original wire what you want is a 12 volt feed to the microswitch on the bottom of the pump. The microswitch will close when the throttle is closed and the engine rpms are over 1200 (or thereabouts) This actuates the fuel cutoff during deceleration. It's more an emissions device than anything else but you will get some backfiring during decel if it's not hooked up.

·
Registered
9,977 Posts