Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
448 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 164S currently has NGK BKR6EIX spark plugs. I only drive this car (or any of my cars) like a little old lady. I never exceed 4K RPM or use a lot of throttle. Looking at the plugs now (also looked at the plugs 7K miles ago), it looks like I could maybe benefit from a slightly hotter plug. Digging around on the internet, it looks like the BKR5EIX-11 would be the next hotter NGK plug.

Anybody use a hotter plug than the BKR6EIX? Anybody ever use the BKR5EIX-11? Any input from people with experience would be appreciated.

Over the decades, I have tried lots of different plugs on my NORD engine in the Alfetta, and have lots of opinions on that, but I have no experience with the V6.

·
Premium Member
15,524 Posts
For one thing, I would up your rev limit to 4500-5000 a couple of times as you do each drive. That would help. So would a little more throttle. The car has actually been designed for more of each, and would actually keep everything a little cleaner. You are not doing any harm to the V6 by doing that. It's a better engine than how you are using it.

Second, I would change to the standard range NGK iridium plugs, as they run cleaner, and last a heck of a lot longer.

Third, I suggest using a little fuel injector cleaner such as Techron now and then in order to keep the injectors, combustion chamber, and plugs cleaner.

I do all of the above, and the 91S engine in my 164 still runs just fine at 193k miles now, never been apart.

Enjoy the car/engine as it is designed. You'll like it more.

·
Registered
2,822 Posts
Iridium tipped spark plugs are said to last indefinitely. Ford specs these with a change required only every 100,000 miles I suspect because that's the target mileage for your government's welded hood emissions policy (my name for that, not official).