Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All! My 2.0 L engine had fitted Lodge 2HL sparkplugs and according to the PO information it was an expensive purchase some years ago. I don't know if they are originals or not but the time is here for replacement. I see many alternatives looking in the internet and I know that NGK are very popular. However, I would like to know if there are other plugs well tried and tested with good performance in the correct hot range apart from the popular NGK. My engine has high compression pistons (calculated CR is 10.4) with 123 distributor and I use 98 or 100 RON unleaded gasoline.

·
Push hard and live
10,888 Posts
Decades ago, the company I was with became a national distributor for NipponDenso spark plugs. A couple of years earlier, while I was a traveling salesman for the company, driving 50-60,000 miles per year in my 78 Honda Accord, I tried both NGK and ND in my car. The ND, which were original fitment, produced about 2mpg more than the NGK.

As I came to better know the ND product, my impression was not only superior quality, but a fairly aggressive commitment to technological development. They introduced several good concepts that NGK later copied.

I’ve long since retired and haven’t kept up, but my impression is that ND sort of lost the marketing war with NGK and Bosch, so they’re becoming harder to find. I turn them up on EBay as sellers try to dispose of remnant stocks. They are still original equipment on many Japanese cars.

They used to offer many optional configurations for otherwise interchangeable plugs. Gold, platinum, iridium, one, two, three, four electrodes, etc. I just installed eight NDs in my 1999 916 with 2.0 twin spark engine. Two different part number plugs for each cylinder. Running great, and cheaper than NGK.