Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, to everyone on the east coast I wish a safe harbor as Irene grinds her way north. Meanwhile, a couple of petty problems out here in the west:

1. I've received a new idler bearing/pulley from Jason. It comes without the bushing in the center through which the mounting bolt goes. How do I get the bushing out of the old unit and insert it in the new unit?

2. One of the bolts holding in the thermostat unit has lost its grip. It's not broken but the threads appear to be slightly stripped. It won't tighten up. I'm hoping that a new bold with fresh threads will hold. What are the size and specs of the bolt? And if I need to go slightly larger to get a fresh grip, what size do you recommend?

3. This is mainly for future reference (should there be a future for this car I've been driving for the last 21 years): I had intended to replace all the belts, but when I got to the power steering belt I took a look at the set up and said, "uh oh." I understand now what Steve meant when he said it's a #*[email protected]#+ to deal with (I think those are his words). I removed the old belt by removing the pulley (as he recommended), examined it, and determined that it was good enough to go back in. However, should I ever change my mind, what are the specs for the off-set wrench which is needed to remove the bolt behind the banjo fitting on the top of the pump? Or is it assumed that you must remove the fitting -- at which point the PS fluid drains out requiring a refill and bleeding of the system?

Mac D.

·
1991 164L
27,688 Posts
First, to everyone on the east coast I wish a safe harbor as Irene grinds her way north. Meanwhile, a couple of petty problems out here in the west:

1. I've received a new idler bearing/pulley from Jason. It comes without the bushing in the center through which the mounting bolt goes. How do I get the bushing out of the old unit and insert it in the new unit?