Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to the Alfa restoration process. I can handle cosmetic upgrades but hav'nt a clue about mecahicals and body matters.

My 75 Spider is original in that I don't think anything has been changed since manufacture. Can anyone suggest what enhancements can be made to upgrade things like handling, suspension, brakes and possibly ignition. Are there certain bushes and steering items that can or should be reviewed

People talk about "clunking" noises from the rear diff. Does this require attention when this occurs.

It can be extremely difficult to start and since my wife will be a regular driver she won't tolerate cold starting problems. Are the elctronic ignition add on's effective, and if so are any brands better than others.

Spark plugs & leads - are there specific brands that will create more efficient motoring ?.

·
Registered
2,984 Posts
I would replace all the rubber parts starting with the one on the driveline. if that breaks it can do a lot of damage and even cause a crash.
I would also do all the ball joints but that will cost but it will make it feal like a new car.
also do not forget the mounts for the motor.

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
THanks guys. With the electronic ignition, are there different types or brands and is it a simple process to install or does it require some mechanical expertise.

With the drive train rubbers which items in particular do you recommend be changed.

·
Registered
2,984 Posts
if it is a 75 and none has been changed they all will need it.
some parts go faster then other depending on how you drive.
the part on top of the diff seemed to only last a year for me.