Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

Registered
1987 Quad
Discussion Starter #1
This is an important set aside, but if one disregards the differences in the front and rear body treatments of the S3 and S4 cars what advantages does one car have over the other? I am pretty new to Alfas and I am just curious about differences in the series. I know the S4 has an air bag in the steering wheel and the bolster on the dash for the knees. Other than that I wonder? Remember, in responding, please disregard the difference in the front and rear end design treatments. Thank you.

I should mention that I currently have an 87 quad.

Looking forward to responses.

Lin

Registered
'84 Spider Veloce
S3 up to '85 has the twin pod dash and wood steering wheel; 86 and after, the monopod dash. S4 gets Motronic injection, power steering, airbag steering wheel - a little more safety & power, but more weight, too. Many don't think the S3's manual steering is a disadvantage.

To me the S4 knee bolsters seem confining. S4 is more a boulevard cruiser . . .

See Alfa Spider FAQs for a complete rundown.

David OD
Laguna CA

Registered
Bosch Motronic fuel injection (actually intorduced in the final year of the S2 ) upped HP from 115 to 120 and power steering. While many view the restyle as more asthetically pleasing, beware that it is impossible to get new replacement bumpers for the S4 if they are damaged.

Premium Member
If you like the S3 body but want the S4 Motronic injection, get a 1990 S3.
If you want the dual pod gauges that were used from 1971 through 1985, get an 83-85 S3 Spider Veloce.
Like previously mentioned, the knee bolsters used in 1986 and up are confining and even worse in the S4 cars unless you have a European version.

Reactions: autobroker

Registered