Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
520 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I thought I would document a rotisserie build for the bb. just trying to give back, I appreciate all the expert help offered here. I want a rotisserie for a couple of GTV projects, first my son's '71, which he will be turning the wrenches on, then my '67, which is almost ready to put on the road, but will need a full restore someday. I looked at a nice rotisserie at an auction recently, but didn't want to bid more than the cost of the materials, as I can use this as a welding tutorial. I have a stick welder for this job, and will be building it at my shop. Let's see how long it takes.
disclaimer, I'm no expert. I've welded once, about 10 years ago, for a couple of hours. that's the extent of my knowledge.

·
Registered
520 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
plans

I am starting with this plan,
Rotisserie
to my eye, it is well designed and strong enough for anything I can envision doing. the caddies won't be rotisserized, as they weigh about 6000 lbs.
thanks to toolman8 for sharing this plan.
I am making a few changes. the plan calls for round DOM tubing to provide the rotating assembly. The local steel yards didn't have this, so I got a couple of hub assemblies from a mechanic friend which I will be adapting. I'll figure this part out when I get closer to that step.

here's pics of the materials. A few bits are missing, the 2"x2" angle bracing (i already had 14 ft of this, so I'll also use it for the front brace instead of using the plate steel called out in the plans). Total cost of this pile of steel, $650, which was more than I expected, but whatcha gonna do?

Attachments

·
Registered
520 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
day 1

Started out with the easy stuff, drilling some holes. 1/2" drill in my drill press, a drop of machine oil to help cut. holes in both sides, not apparent from the pic.