Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I am new to the Alfa world, having recently purchased a 1971 1750GTV (with SPICA) as a restoration project. The po had it since 1989, and parked it in 1992 due to a leaking fuel tank (appears to be at the seam). He purchased it from the original owner, and it is in fair condition. It was parked with 1 gallon of gas in the tank (I drained it last night - more like varnish). I am really excited in finding this GTV - having considered other options such as GT6, MGB-GT, Beta - the issue with many of the others is that you still have a $3500 car once it's whipped into shape, not to mention that you RARELY see vintage Alfa's on the road here in Minnesota/Wisconsin. On to my questions:

1) Are these fuel tanks repairable, assuming it is the seam? I have found a few new replacements (I-A, etc), but they are all noted as "carburated only" Where can one find a correct replacement if repair is not an option?

2) I am concerned about the varnish creation in the SPICA pump. I will be changing out filters and flushing lines to the pump, but is it possible to flush/drain the pump to injectors?

3) Has anyone successfully stripped their mahogany dash trim and restained it, or is it too thin?

4) Any recommendations on carpet (not mats) suppliers?

5) My speedo and tach are both hanging at the bottoms of their respective meters - no battery installed yet - is this typical, or are there issues related to this?

Regards

Scott from St Croix County, Wisconsin

·
Registered
3,909 Posts