Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a set of original Campagnolo 5 spoke mags on an '83 spider. Can anyone tell me if these are magnesium or an aluminium alloy?

Any hints on refurbishing? I'm thinking bead blasting and hand polishing rather than re-painting. Not sure if they were originally painted but a previous owner has had a go at painting and it is now peeling off.

·
Registered
3,927 Posts
Hi,

I'm relatively new to these wheels myself, but I'm pretty sure they are aluminum and were painted from the factory.

Peter

·
Registered
585 Posts
I have a set on my 86. and a warning. The wheels are an alloy of magnesium. There are refinishers...I had all of mine done..they replaced the 2 or 3 broken spokes. and then powder coated them. . Remember, magnesiun burns. They are very light, as you will see the rims weigh no more than 5 or so pounds. When you wash them, don't use just anything for wheels..red the label carefully, as some are specific for m esium, and others will damge the wheels (rims). They are worth the care, as the unsprung weight is very greatly reduced, and you will feel the difference in the ride. They are great, but you have to exercise care !!!

·
Registered
3,927 Posts
oops, I stand corrected!

·
Premium Member
450 Posts
They are originally painted, so I had mine powder coated - they turned out reasonably well, but powder coating has some probs with tight corners, as any ( honest ) coater will tell you. If I do this again, I would go with coating again only if the person doing it would take the time ( read cost more ) to make sure of the outcome. Otherwise, a painting & clear-coat would last ~ 5 to 10 years-ish, but would eventually start peeling....

To sum up: Find a good coater you can trust to work towards the outcome you desire, if not, then painting is the way to make them beautiful ( for a shorter time ) than powder coat.

·
Registered
293 Posts