Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As some of you know, my background is composites. I was thinking of going the Lotus approach by removing weight from my 87 Graduate for performance sake. I have not weighed any panels, or even removed them, thus far, but I removed the spare and jack to help out.

I am curious where you guys might see some serious weight loss: hood, trunk lid, doors, seats? Any ideas? It would be easy to mold the hood and trunk lid and build some light weight panels with an endgrain balsa core. The hood would probably weight in at about 10 pounds, but, I am curious how noticable this would be.

Have any of you guys lifted the carpet and removed sound deadener (if their is any) for weight reduction?

What about the weight of the factory Graduate wheels? anybody switched to a lighter wheel and noticed any difference?

My thought is, if i can remove 200 pounds of weight, and add a safe 50 shot of nitrous (a buddy of mine owns a shop that only does nitrous installs), this car would be a lot more aggressive. This would put the car at about the same power to weight ratio as a 1980's 911 Carrera, so an honest 14.5 quarter mile time would be possible, though I enjoy the twisty roads much better.

Thanks

Ronny

·
Registered
13 Posts
The sound deadener alfa used weighed an awful lot, and if the spider is anything like a 105 gt it will packed with the stuff all over the floors, it can be chipped off easily.

·
Registered
957 Posts
From '75 on Spiders got heavier as the "It's for your own good" safety nannies forced manufacturers to add additional "Safety" features.

Not sure if you can back-date a 87 to the '74 front and rear bumpers/grill, but you would probably lose 100 Lb. or more.
I am doing this to my '78.

Maybe make some CF bumpers with an aluminum bar inside?
Taking weight off the ends of the car has to be one of the most effective places to get rid of it.