Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 69 Duetto just has 2 holes in the rear to hold the tag. It seems to sit the plate high up under the trunk lid so you can not see it well. Is there supposed to be a bracket that bolts to the body and the tag will bolt to that? This Duetto is my first Alfa so I am still learning about it. Thank you, Steve G

·
Registered
3,922 Posts
yes, there is supposed to be a bracket. I can't take a picture right now, but if no one else does, I can go out and do it for you tomorrow

·
Registered
294 Posts
License plate

Hopefully my quick photos will make sense. On my 69, there are two upper tabs that the plate slides into. Then two lower nut/bolt arrangements to secure the bottom.

And if you have a weird sense of humor, you might construct a modified logo for your former spica, now "webered" set up.

Hope this helps.

GMack
69 Spider
74 GTV

·
Registered
330 Posts
This is what the bracket looks like for the US 69 spider. The center two holes are the ones that attach it to the car. Like Greg said, slide the license plate under the two tabs at the top and secure it through the bottom holes. I know it seems upside down, but hey it's an Alfa. :)

The plate is aluminum. It's not generally available (US version and one year only), but should be easy enough to make.

Chuck

Attachments

·
Registered
3,922 Posts
oh wow, mine is completely different! I have a 67 that started it's life in Germany, so that may be why it's different, or maybe it's home made, but here are the pics

Attachments

·
Premium Member
801 Posts
The two years are different. I have an xtra 67 free to anyone who wants it.
It is the one that attaches like the last above picture.

·
Premium Member
801 Posts
It would work but it wouldn't be correct. It is different in that the part that goes to the bottom of the lower valance is not on the 69 but only the 67.