Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
424 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got the passenger side axle shaft out, it just slipped right out. Driver side not budging easily. It should come out easily enough, correct? Or am I missing something since it's the LSD side?

I read about rebuild of diff requiring measuring the lash and requiring special tools to make the necessary adjustments. I'm a real novice at this and have no idea what that even means. I think the seal is leaking, is it called the pinion seal? Can I replace it without issue with typicals tools and not throw off the other specs?

·
Super Moderator
10,591 Posts
I've got the passenger side axle shaft out, it just slipped right out. Driver side not budging easily. It should come out easily enough, correct?
No, not correct. Sometimes the bearing just sticks in the axle housing. People have reported using a wheel as an improvised slide hammer. Mount wheel, screw lug nuts just a few turns, yank wheel toward you to tap out the bearing. Make SURE the car is well supported so you don't knock it off its jack stands!

... the pinion seal? Can I replace it without issue with typical tools and not throw off the other specs?
Unless you put different gears into your existing housing, that complicated set-up procedure isn't an issue. When replacing the seal, you do need to re-tighten the nut on the pinion flange properly, do need the weird socket pictured below to get that nut off & on, ...., so yes, there are a few tricks, but it isn't as complicated as other operations on the differential.

·
Premium Member
424 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Jay, have the pinion nut tool already so good to go.