Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
362 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here...Alfie (as she likes to be called) did really great at the Arizona emissions inspection (which is a real toughie). Wish I had a video of her dancing on the rollers, through all 5 gears, up and down the RPMs to 65 mph; coasting to a stop then off again to 65. Took her 4 runs (and two drivers..second guy was better on holding her to the test parameters) to get through. Inspectors thought she might have a muffler leak which was throwing the test off, so I was happy that it could be an easy fix! Was able to watch the test from the safety of a blast shelter about 3 feet from her with no noise barrier, I mention this cause nothing bad happened to her during the test (no missed shifts, no grinds ect). Anyway by the time we were done we'd backed the line up a bit so I was in a hurry to get out of there. Jumped in and low & behold I had no clutch!!!! Pedal was stuck down, with about 2" of play (guess from habit my first start step is to depress the clutch, with engine off, was able to move the shift lever though through the gears, so put her in second, started her up and hopped out of there. She fired up and was able to get her home, in second, through 10 red lights (1 complete stop, lucky she started again and hopped off, 7 green & lucky we only had to run 2 reds) She's a donation/auction girl (auction is a no drive one, could start her and move her about 2 feet forward and back but that was it) so I have no history except the odo says 139K miles. Title suggests that the PO only put 600 miles on her in the 6 years he owned her. When I first got her I checked all the fluids and thought there was fluid in the clutch cylinder (but when I opened to cap, saw the screen was damp and not wanting to get break fluid on my hands, assumed it was full, but cant swear to the fact that there was fluid in the clutch master reservoir). Anyway now the reservoir is empty (I would assume if