Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Super Moderator
11,847 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been restoring a ’66 Sprint GT for the past several years (see a thread I’ve been running called “Progress on Assembling Sprint GT”). It’s funny – things you expect to be difficult often prove to be easy, while things you expect to be easy sometimes turn into challenges. I am dealing with one of those challenges now, and hope that some of you can shed some light on it.

I am reinstalling the fan, radiator, and shroud, and find that it all doesn’t fit as I would expect. The fan extends too far forward and interferes with the radiator core, while the fan blades interfere with the lower part of the fan shroud.

Before all of you reply with “install an electric fan!”, let me say: thank you, but I like the simplicity, originality, and reliability of a mechanical fan. And, yes, a “Euro” style fan (like Centerline’s FB205) would probably solve my problem, but I wanted the additional air flow that the big fan gives, and don’t care about the power expenditure.

A few clarifications: The car has a 2L engine, not its original 1600. I had the radiator re-cored with a thicker N+1 row core. I asked the shop to put any additional thickness toward the front of the radiator, buy they may have messed up. I am installing the radiator with fresh mounting grommets, so it should be positioned correctly. There is no aluminum spacer on the waterpump flange.

My first photo shows the fan blades mounted to the water pump - the tape measure showing the front of the blades extending 5” from the engine front cover. As it turns out, that 5” dimension is too much – the face of the fan hits the radiator core. This is a new fan that I just bought from Centerline – their p/n FB215 which supposedly fits ’65 and up 105’s.