Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I purchased a 1984 spider a few days ago and have been having an absolute blast with it. I'm new to Italian cars, but am familiar with driving a car with a manual transmission (or so I thought) . My question concerns braking and coming to a stop.

When I took it out for a test drive, the man selling the Alfa told me that, for example, if I am in third gear and approaching a stop sign that I should simply apply the brakes and do nothing with the clutch, just leave the car in third gear until I slow down to about 8-10 miles per hour and THEN push in the clutch as I'm crawling to a stop. I have admittedly never heard of this technique and am wondering if he is correct about this. If he is correct, is this the technique that should be applied to all cars with manual transmissions or is it simply a technique specific to Alfas?

Any insight is hugely appreciated.

Thanks you!

·
Registered
what part?
10,248 Posts
if you are coming to a stop. lets say a light. i just slip the tranny into neutral, use the brakes to slow down.. strange how he stops.. yes downshifting into corners, in the mountains, coast roads. or back raod if you are having fun,, but a genral stop, stop as you would in a honda, or any car with a stick.. i think of it this way, which is cheaper to replace the brake pads, or the clutch?

·
Registered
521 Posts
There is no need to depress the clutch when slowing until you are close to stopping. You can use the engine to help you slow, thereby saving the brakes a little. Since you are off the throttle anyway, you aren't using any more gas. When approaching a red light, I like to leave it in the appropriate gear with the clutch engaged to be ready to go if the light changes before I get to it. I disengage the clutch at the last moment before stopping. Coasting is not really a good thing. It's easy to get caught in neutral and have to crunch it into gear.

·