Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
847 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
AC Installation in a 1974 105 GTV 2000

I am interested in getting people's feed back on this wiring diagram shown below. I am new to auto electrics and I am eager not to muff it. With this caution I provide no guarantee as to the the correctness, functionality or safety of the wiring diagram that I am proposing. Frankly what I have tried to do is possibly more complicated than needed and it does work on the assumption that two fans (pulling on the radiator side and pushing on the condenser side) do not work against one another when both are activated at the same time. That is, I have assumed that two fans are better than one.

I have combined wiring diagrams sourced off this forum and come up with the diagram shown below.

I have also attached the Excel file used to create the diagram in case anyone wanted to modify it and because the picture quality shown below is not good.

View attachment AC GTV Wiring Diagram 26-01-2011.xls

Wiring Diagram.jpg

If I have designed it properly this is how it should work:

1. Radiator fan comes on when temperature reaches 180 degrees; the radiator fan remains on (even when the ignition is off) until a temperature of 175 is reached;

2. If the AC is on when the radiator temperature switch comes on I have allowed the condenser fan to come on also under the assumption that if the AC is on then the engine is under even greater load and may require a little more assistance getting the temp down;

3. Radiator and condenser fan comes on when activated by a manual override switch which again is not powered by an ignition source with the result that the radiator and condenser fan remains on even when the ignition is off. Note that each power supply (#30) can have a different source, e.g., one from the ignition and the other from the battery for example - it's up to you;