Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys,

This is my first time posting here. This year I did something I started thinking of 24 years ago. I bought an S4 Spider. I didn't set out to acquire it with any more resolve than in the last 24 years. One simply popped up with the right equipment, mileage, condition, and on an actionable level, at the right price! I always knew if I got one that I would have to add more power to the engine, as I'd driven a couple back in '94 when the thought first entered my head. Since buying this car I've done some serious research along those lines and boiled it down to 3 possibilities. Please help me decide which is the right course to take. I am not after anything crazy. I don't want to degrade the car's drivability or reliability. I might be willing to sacrifice a little longevity, but not in any serious way. I need to mention that the car has a ZF-slushbox. That's a good thing for adding power because that 3spd ZF automatic went into a slew of far more powerful European cars, so is not a limiting factor or concern. Here are my 3 ideas.

1) ADD NITROUS
I've done this on other cars I've owned, so I have experience to draw on. It'll be a multi-port wet system; a 12-shot (that's the smallest nozzle they have) on each intake runner for a total of 48 added HP. I'll have a WOT-switch, an RPM window-switch (ON from 3000 RPM to 5500 RPM probably... it can be set in 500 RPM increments. With NOS the engine is on a mad RPM-dash and you don't want it bouncing off of redline, plus you don't want the engine under a lot of stress when it shifts) and an overall manual on/off switch. The drawback to NOS is that the bottle takes up space in the car and must be taken for a refill each time it runs dry. There are only a couple places in town to do that so you must go out of your way every few weeks.

2) Transplant a factory turbocharged Nord engine from an Alfa 75