Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,854 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I have been experiencing problems in my engine compartments, I have a few cars, with cooling and fuel system leaks. I just can't get this clamps to work right. So, me being a building contractor I tried PEX clamps we use for plumbing. Seems to work fine. Now my 164 is leaking at the fuel hoses against the firewall on the passenger's side. Yeah, the hard to reach ones. I replaced the hoses when I had the engine out, but used hoses from Autozone. I am now thinking of using the proper 7.5mm hoses and use the PEX clamps. Any thoughts? The clamps are on the left and the red hose is the PEX hose that attaches to the barbed fitting.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,785 Posts
Sorry no direct answer at the moment, but I've been interested in finding out what the difference is between the crimp plumbing type supplies like you show and oettinger (spelling?) type clamps used for auto applications. The clamps look similar and the crimping tools look similar. Working pressures in building systems are generally higher than auto fuel and coolant lines as far as I'm aware. I would think the plumbing stuff is capable to do the job.

Wth that said, I've never had trouble replacing oettinger clamps with regular screw clamps. Just use fuel injection type clamps for the fuel hose.

I was looking into those pex tees to replace a couple of the OEM tee fittings in the stock cooling system. Haven't pulled the trigger yet though.

·
Registered
9,977 Posts
I recently replaced those hoses. I used 7.5mm FI hose with FI hose type clamps (11-13mm // 5/16"). No double clamps. No leaks. Don't use 5/16" or 7.9mm hose. Use the right size and do it once.