Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there my 91 164L has been overheating and I'm hoping that someone could help find out what's the problem.

I've let the car idle for awhile and noticed that the fan never turns on even when the temperature light turns on. I followed Steve's guide on checking the fan and I was able to get both the high and low speed going. I didn't test the A/C switches since the A/C hasn't worked since I've bought the car. Anyways I tested by using the connectors at the front. The relays clicked and the fan does turn on.

So I'm just wondering what could be the problem. I'm not very experienced when it comes to figuring out the problem but hopefully with your guys help I can get my alfa going again.

Thanks!

·
Registered
8,782 Posts
If you got the fan to run by jumpering the switch in the side of the radiator( if that's what you mean by following Steve's guide), then likely the switch is bad.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Richard

Yes I jumped the wires on the side of the radiator to get the fan to run. What exactly do you mean by the switch in other words what name should I use to look it up.

Thanks

·
Premium Member
26,992 Posts
Hi Richard

Yes I jumped the wires on the side of the radiator to get the fan to run. What exactly do you mean by the switch in other words what name should I use to look it up.

Thanks
The coolant fan 2-speed thermal switch is the switch in the side tank of the radiator.

This is what it looks like for your 12v model. This one appears to be missing copper sealing washer.

Alfa Romeo 164 E' 155 Fan Switch OE | eBay

·
Premium Member
26,992 Posts
Hi Steve

Thanks for showing me how it looks. One more question. Would the ones on rock auto work with my alfa. They seem to be cheaper there and I'm kind of on a tight budget.
More Information for VALEO 819749

Thanks for the help