Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve just replaced the relay fuse and the therm switch fan in the radiator. Temp still reaching 175 quickly then within minutes close to 250 triggering red heat warning light on dash. Fans not turning on. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated

·
Premium Member
86 Veloce
1,163 Posts
Thermostat stuck closed?

·
But Mad North-Northwest
11,124 Posts
Thermostat may be stuck closed. Is your top radiator hose getting hot? If it's not you're not getting flow through the radiator and the fans won't trigger.

·
Premium Member
315 Posts
Pop the thermostat out and test it in a pot of water, watch and see if the thermostat opens or if its just locked.
I like to watch the thermostat as the pot of water warms, rather than wait and see if it changed. You will be able to see the spring move

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thank you for your replies. I’m a novice to this car can you suggest best way to remove thermostat. I don’t even know where it’s located exactly.

·
Premium Member
315 Posts
Here you go, heres a pic of where the thermostat is located.
Unbolt the thermostat housing and pull the thermostat out.
Heres a video also on what to watch for when you test it with boiling water.

Attachments

Reactions: msena34

·
But Mad North-Northwest
11,124 Posts
This is a Motronic Spider, Aaron. Different layout and different thermostat than in that picture.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Here you go, heres a pic of where the thermostat is located.
Unbolt the thermostat housing and pull the thermostat out.
Heres a video also on what to watch for when you test it with boiling water.
If I unbolt it do I need to drain the radiator fluid first since it’s attached to the upper hose ?

·
Premium Member
315 Posts

I knew there would be a write up somewhere around here.
My bad, I did not realize the thermostat layout was much different between the series.