Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1977 Alfa Romeo Spider
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me start by saying I’m very green when it comes to mechanical work. I’m only 26 and this is my first project car. I have a 1977 spider spica injected. This past weekend I was working on getting it timed so I could tune the spica. Iv had It running multiple time but it never would idle or run good. I was attempting to get it up to 5,000 rpm to check the time when it started to smoke really bad from the exhaust pipe and then I noticed a bad oil leak coming from the #3 exhaust manifold gasket. It’s also leaking at the connection of the exhaust manifold to the exhaust pipe and under the car ant what must be a failed weld. I’ve done a compression test and got 144-138 which I think is ok. The bad news is the leak down test confirmed almost %100 leak down on #1,2,and 3. I was pretty deflated after that and never checked 4 which oddly enough the #4 spark plug is supper clean while the other are covered in carbon and possibly have oil on them. I’m planing to do another leak down test tomorrow and document all cylinders as well as check the tolerances for the shimsince I have the vale cover off now. My question is

if I’m getting ok compression how could I be getting that much leakage?

I’m guessing I may have another issue non-value related that is allowing oil into the cylinder, is that right?

this is most likely going to turn into a long term project now because I don’t have unlimited funds. I may decide to cut my losses but for now I’m content with putting money in it as I can. I’m really enjoying learning about Alfa and cars in general. Any suggestions on what to test or how to identify my issues so I can better understand what I’m about to embark on ( I assume an engine rebuild) would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Cale

Attachments

·
Registered
1977 Alfa Romeo Spider
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Update