Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Owned an alfa before, but never a garage, so other than tuning and electricals, I'm a novice. I need help. I think I want to change out my transmission - it grinds and leaks- for a good used one. I have a '69. I have seen very reasonable prices on both an old gearbox and an new rebuilt one on e-bay. SHould I go for the newer box or will the older one fit easier?

Perhaps far more important. can anyone help guide me doing this myself? I know Pat Braden said If you've never done it don't, more or less, but then I never will learn will I? I'm not a mechanic, but I have another car to get to work in if I need time to get this one back together. Is it far too much of a simplification to just take all the bolts out on both ends until the transmission comes out? Is there a step by step manual that I can get (preferrably with pics because a lot of the terms are gibberish to me)?

I would be much happier doing this myself than sending it out - I'd be glad to take some guidance. O'h yeah, having tried to understand the chapter on transmissions, I'm quite sure that I can't rebuiild mine at my level of skill! Maybe if I have the old tranny out for a while to tinker with...

Thanks.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Taking the gearbox out, and putting it in for that matter, is possibly one of the most difficult things you can do with a car. However, I have taken it out by myself, without anybody helping me, so it is definately doable. But get some friends around - its much easier than being alone!

Couple of things ive found works easiest:

- dont undo the 'dougnut' adaptor underneath the car - its quite difficult and you might loose your temper in the process ;)