Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Alfa seen and I picked up A 1987 spider . Great car needed
some work and did not run whin I picked it up . but after a little time she came to life. But found out that it had some serious trans problims . So I picked up a good used trans and instaled it .But now she wont start! I have checked all of the inj ,put in a new coil,and a new good used ECU and checked all the wireing and did all that I can think of but for the life of me
I cant git her to come to life again . There is no points in the dist . I love this car and cant wait to take her for a spin with the top down. I would Thank
someone so much if they could help me and tell me where I might look to fix
my car ?

Thank You
Mike S

·
Administrator
16,624 Posts
Have a look at the L-jet diagnosis page - a link is in my signature.

Typical reasons for no-start/no-spark are inadequate battery voltage during cranking (the ECU needs ~ 10.3V to wake up and it is entirely possible for voltage to drop below that level yet it sounds like the engine is cranking over OK), poor electrical connections - especially grounds, &/or a failed flywheel sensor or two.

·
Registered
99 Posts
If the "no spark" happened the same time you swapped out the transmission then I would definitely check the flywheel sensors. They need to be attached to send signals to your Electronic Control Unit which coordinates the spark to your plugs. I had some clutch work done recently and the mechanic failed to properly mount one of the flywheel sensors. It eventually became dislodged and the car wouldn't start. I spent a day and a half following ghnl's diagnostic pages before i crawled underneath and realized that the fly wheel sensor was "flying free". I reinstalled it and the car fired right up.

·
Premium Member
304 Posts