Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi evryone - this is my first timeposting - hope you guys can help me:

2 years ago I got this 89 alfa spider essentially in a box. Just got done putting it together & it will not run. Found that I’m not getting fuel & that the ground pulse is non existant. If I ground one terminal on an injector it will spray – the very confusing Alfa manual shows that power comes from the main relay feeding all 4 injectors & the other leads to each injector are coming from the ecu. Im assuming that the ground switching has to happen at the ecu, but it’s just a solid power from it. Any suggestions?

Thanks so much

Fidel E. Colman
Edit/Delete Message

·
Administrator
16,423 Posts
Welcome! Lots of good info is available here. Run a search for no-start conditions - you'll find plenty of posts.

1. Do you have the Alfa shop manual? I have a copy on CD from CarDisc.com
It includes a step by step troubleshooting section so you can work things out logically & not miss things.

2. The Bosch FI & ignition computers have to get a signal from a pair of flywheel sensors to know that the engine is turning - otherwise they do nothing & you get no spark or squirt. They are easy to test with an ohn meter. You can test at the connections in the engine bay and also at the large connector to the ignition computer (will check the integrity of the wiring).

3. The computers are also sensitive to voltage. If they don't see adequate voltage - again nothing. If your battery is slightly weak (like after multiple cranking attempts), the voltage can drop during cranking to a level below the computer's threshold.

Here's a link to a thread I started when I couldn't get a spark on the 'basket-case' Spider I resurrected: http://www.alfabb.com/bb/forums/showthread.php?t=23817&highlight=flywheel+sensor . There is a link in that thread that goes to other 'no-start' threads. Should give you lots to consider!

HTH, Eric

·