Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I'm a complete newbie to this site - and to Alfa Romeos. (I used to have Datsun 240Zs [:eek:] in the UK, but they are unavailable in South Africa - to where I have moved.

So... I have been looking for a fast road/track day/occasional hill-climb car and have seen an advert for a Junior stepnose with 2ltr engine, twin-choke Webers, LSD, 2 spare engines, windshields and other spares for about ZAR 25,000 (£1800/$3600). The owner has sent me photos of the areas I am concerned about (bodywork being my primary concern) and it looks very good indeed - fairly original and with very minor surface rust.

My apologies if the following questions have been asked before, but can anyone give me their opinion on the following:

1. Is a Junior stepnose a good investment if I keep it outwardly original, or is a GTA lookalike more desirable?

2. Having only owned IRS trackday cars, how much difference will be noticable with a live axle (assuming I get a good aftermarket suspension setup? Should I choose an IRS Alfa instead?

3. How do I get the vehicle and spares 1600kms across South Africa and pay for it without the wife knowing?

Many thanks in anticipation. And many thanks for the informative and inspirational threads.

C

·
Registered
223 Posts
3. How do I get the vehicle and spares 1600kms across South Africa and pay for it without the wife knowing?
When you figure out the answer to this question - Please POST. Been trying to do this but only five miles accross town in the USA. Been married 41 years and still can't figure her out!!!!!!:D

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
When you figure out the answer to this question - Please POST. Been trying to do this but only five miles accross town in the USA. Been married 41 years and still can't figure her out!!!!!!:D