Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Alfa world (but have fallen in love with it!) I recently purchased a 1991 Spider Veloce and it appears the instrument lights, ie, speedo, tach, oil, temp, do not illuminate. I tried adjusting the reostat (sp) to no avail. All other lights and electricals seem to be operating fine. I've read through numerous threads on this topic but can't quite seem to find my exact situation. Your thoughts and expertise are much appreciated.

·
Registered
259 Posts
Have you checked the wiring harness connectors that attach to the instrument cluster? That's all I can offer - I haven't had to do any instrument cluster work on mine.

·
But Mad North-Northwest
10,631 Posts
Pull the rheostat out and see if you have power on the yellow wire with the headlights on. If you do, bypass the rheostat by jumpering the yellow wire to the white/black wire. If that works you have a bad rheostat.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I am new to the Alfa world (but have fallen in love with it!) I recently purchased a 1991 Spider Veloce and it appears the instrument lights, ie, speedo, tach, oil, temp, do not illuminate. I tried adjusting the reostat (sp) to no avail. All other lights and electricals seem to be operating fine. I've read through numerous threads on this topic but can't quite seem to find my exact situation. Your thoughts and expertise are much appreciated.
Older Alfas have a toggle switch somewhere in the Dashboard to specifically turn off the Instrument Lights, for whatever reason. I am not sure whether a 91 Spider still has that, but my 62 and 66 Spiders do. Try to find that switch in your car, or look up in the Manual.