Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a 1986 Veloce. I am not new to cars or motorcycles by any means and I just finished my big bore Harley engine so now it's on to my next project however, with that said I am new to Alfa's. The car is structurally rust free considering it's a Pennsylvania car. It was last inspected in 2008. We bought it as a weekend driver and Auto-X project. First thing I noticed was that the distributor cap and rotor were removed from the car but inside the engine bay. Neither appear to have much wear on them so I replaced them and put a battery in the car. We were able to get the engine to hit momentarily but determined the in tank pump and sender were bad. I ordered a new setup from Centerline. This was this passed Fri. We spent Saturday gutting the interior for fresh carpet and seats. Yesterday I wanted to see if the engine would fire on some ether but now we have no spark. What would potentially cause the no spark issue in a matter of 2 days? I'm not sure where to start and don't want to throw money at this trying to find something wrong. Coil reads 12 volts at the green wires. Battery is also reading 12v constant with ignition on. One thing I did note is a bit of rust inside the distributor itself below the plastic disc that sits under the rotor. Thanks in advance for your expertise.

·
Premium Member
1,776 Posts
No spark could be a lot of things, including low battery voltage (although 12v should be sufficient while cranking) or bad flywheel sensor(s). There is a diagnostics manual at this link, where you will find a lot of great information about how to test the various components of the Bosch L-Jet system.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #4