Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thanks to Admins for creating this forum, glad I found it. I'm based in Australia.
I'm looking at purchasing an Alfa. I'm new to the marque and what I know about them is just through reading.
But I do like the style of them and the reputation for being a driver's car. I have always owned classic cars mostly of the Chrysler variety so worlds away from the Euro vehicles.
I'd love people's opinion on what model is most desirable in the $A10,000-$20,000 price bracket. I'm mostly interested in pre 1995 models. I quite like the 75, 33 and Sud models but what else should I look for in that range?
Thank you for any suggestions.

·
Administrator
17,766 Posts
Welcome aboard! You're going about this backwards. Most of us fall in love with a derelict then spend the rest of lives (and our kids inheritance) fixing it up...

You have some models we never got in the USA. I'd suggest finding a local Alfa club and enquire of the members. They will likely know of good candidates for sale and may be able to help you with a pre-purchase inspection.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks ghnl. I have done the derelict thing with Australian made Dodges and Valiants but just sold the last one - so am looking for a different type of punishment :)
I'll definitely take up your suggestion re local car clubs.
Cheers

·
Registered
501 Posts
Hi and welcome to the Alfa world....

10-20K in AUS should get you into a 75,33 or Sud but don't discount the Alfetta range. That budget would get you a nice Alfetta Sedan or maybe a project or better Alfetta GTV.

What you have to do is some research and then see if you have a preference for front wheel drive (33 , Sud) or what we call the 'trans axle' cars (ie. Alfetta coupe, sedan, 75 ) which are
rear wheel drive with the gearbox at the rear.