Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't dare go another season on the Bridgestone Potenza RE950's (NLA) I've been running on my GTV since 2002, and since the choices for 14" tires are so limited, I've narrowed the selection down to the 4 below. Although I'm not thrilled with any of these, they're available thru the tire shop I'd like to work with. All are 185/65/14. Any comments on, or experience with any of these?

Sumitomo HTR A/S PO1

Falken Ziex 912

Sumitomo HTR T4

Toyo Extensa A/S

Definitely open to suggestions for others. Prefer a performance tire as opposed to touring. Tread life won't mattter. No snow driving expected.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
6,337 Posts
I don't know about all the Sumo's but the ones I've got are great in the dry but in the wet their is no grip whatsoever. Got Potenza 15's on the GTV and I get the greatest kick out of being next to these guys in their big diesel duallies and taking off at a light and sitting there spinning tires while I see them in the rear view mirror.

·
Premium Member
13,049 Posts
I have Falken Ziex on both my Spider and GTV6 and I am happy with them. An SCCA regional champion drove my GTV6 around the Carolina Motorsports track last weekend and he said that the car handled and braked well. They are also decent on wet roads.

·
Premium Member
37 Posts
Avon makes a great (but expensive) 185/70 14, the CR6ZZ that is street legal but sees use as a rain racing tire as well. I've been running Sumitomo HTR 200's (NLA) and am about to switch.

Kent

·
Registered
2,988 Posts
If you've been running the same tires since 2002, anything will be an improvement. Those are some ancient tires! While they started life as Bridgestones, they are now Maypops.
I like the Falkens and Sumitimos as they are inexpensive and my cars use them up.